Lie to me

Buffy: Nothing’s ever simple anymore. I’m constantly trying to work it out. Who to love or hate. Who to trust. It’s just, like, the more I know, the more confused I get.
Giles: I believe that’s called growing up.
Buffy: I’d like to stop then, okay?
Giles: I know the feeling.
Buffy: Does it ever get easy?
(Ford rises as a vampire, and Buffy slays him.)
Giles: You mean life?
Buffy: Yeah. Does it get easy?
Giles: What do you want me to say?
Buffy: Lie to me.
Giles: Yes, it’s terribly simple. The good guys are always stalwart and true, the bad guys are easily distinguished by their pointy horns or black hats, and we always defeat them and save the day. No one ever dies, and everybody lives happily ever after.
Buffy: Liar.

I, of course, never lie but if I did my lies would be the kindest lies that ever could be and I would use them only to help people.

What was the last lie that you told?

15 Comments

Filed under Keen Scimitar +2, You decide

15 responses to “Lie to me

  1. I told my dog that she could have my pizza crust last night, that was a terrible lie as I actually ate it myself.

  2. “I’m fine.”
    “No, of course I don’t mind.”
    etc etc etc.

    Goddammit I’m a pushover.

  3. After Big Brother, I told my housemates that I was heading up to my room to do some work for the magazine rather than watching Brothers and Sisters or whatever that programme is called with them in the lounge. I actually went upstairs and got my ratty babies out and played with them while kinda half watching that programme. Just really irritated by Transport Planner at the moment. Desk Editor is fine, but Transport Planner is doing my nut in. Can’t explain why, I think it is his face taht is getting to me. One hour was enough last night.

  4. Rich, that was a terrible thing that you did. Terrible. I bet you got the sad puppy dog eyes treatment.

    Katja, yeah pushover, right. Wait! You lied just then, didn’t you. Oh you sneak.

    Sad Soup, a good lie that resulted in quality rat time. Well done.

  5. Fabulous

    I am so rubbish at lying i just cant do it. Besides it would be wrong for me to do since it is one of the commandments.
    I do often say something along the lines of – i dont think it is the most flattering of dresses rather than – it is lovely.

  6. I got the very sad puppy dog eyes look and then she brought a plant from the garden into the house and got mud all over my sofa.

    I learnt my lesson.

  7. M

    I am the worlds worst liar. Well. One of them at least. I always give myself away. Usually, when people lie, they go a bit TMI and you’re there going “so why are they giving me so much information about their sock drawer?”

    I am more likely to omit bits of the truth than to lie outright.

    Mas

  8. FAB what commandments are these? It’s good that you’re honest though.

    Rich, quite right too.

    Mas, someone has to be the world’s worst liar, why not you?

  9. Fabulous

    Part of the 10 commandments in the bible.
    Remember honesty is always the best policy

  10. The 10 commandments have always confused me. I mean they seem to vary depending on the actual version you read and the first three or four say the same thing.

    No killing, no fibbing, no nicking stuff and treat everyone else with respect seem to be the core message. You hardly need all that thunder and lightning and climbing up mountains to deliver basic societal advice…in fact you could even boil it down to “Treat everyone else in the same manner that you would expect to be treated” and it’d be open to less misrepresentation and misinterpretation.

    Anyway the point about lying is that it’s pretty easy to get found out and liars tend to forget what they’ve lied about. Remember the Ferengi Rules of Acquisition:
    Rule 60. Keep your lies consistent.

  11. Fabulous

    Hum i think that the point of the thunder and lightning was that was God. He sent the lightning to carve the messages on the rocks. I mean we are going back a few years and there wasnt pen and paper in those days.
    Moses came down after it all and his hair was white from seeing God.
    Each commandment had a differnet meaning but all strive for one thing. That people live in love. Not Hate.
    Funny how peolple have not stuck to things as killing. I mean you look at that and think.. that is the worst one right. But actually i think that Lying is probably the worse. Gets you in all sorts of trouble.

  12. I still think killing is the worst one. Nobody ever got over being killed except in stories.

    It’s a nice story anyway, very cinematic. The bible writers must have had a flair for the dramatic when they were thinking that one up.

  13. M

    Actually, I think the worst is the one (however they word it) about worshiping other idols and gods. Sometimes I wish I existed in those times – God was so much more theatrical about it all – burning bushes, lightning carving on stone; plagues of beasts and all sorts of powerful demonstrations of the “power of God”… and look at us now. It’s like he’s gone “well, I tried, they just ignored me; I’m just not going to bother anymore… although I might boil the planet for a laugh and see if the cockroaches survive…”

    Mas

  14. M

    Hey! it thinks I’m spam again. I am not spam. I checked earlier. There was no “made by Hormel Foods Corporation” stamped on my tin or anything. Harumph!

    Mas

  15. M

    Or maybe it didn’t
    I get so confused sometimes

    is the blog lying to me?
    Mas

Leave a Reply

