Polly Ticks

I have a question.

Can anyone think of a reason why my views should be represented in various political forums by 15 people?

According to the Write to Them website my district councillors are Terry Hart (Labour) and Susan Stocker (Liberal Democrat), my county councillors are Ann Buckley (Liberal Democrat) and Anne Edwards (Labour), my MP is David Willetts (Conservative) and my ten MEPs are Peter Skinner (Labour), Ashley Mote (Independent), Sharon Bowles (Liberal Democrat), Nigel Farage (UK Independence), Daniel Hannan (Conservative), Caroline Lucas (Green) and, Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne, (Liberal Democrat).

My political views are so much in the minority, it seems, that I feel compelled to point out that I haven’t voted for any of these people.  Not even one of them.  I’m also ashamed to admit that I have only heard of two of them.  Willetts, because I have an unreasonable hatred for the shiny faced little git and Terry Hart because I remember getting a leaflet through the door from him.

I’m disappointed to discover that Terry Hart isn’t the same Terry Hart who was an astronaut.  If he was the same guy then I probably would have voted for him.

Do I really need this many people representing me?  Isn’t one person representing me in national government, one in local government and one in Europe enough?  Do I even need that many?

Political views on the size of government are welcome.

4 Comments

Filed under You decide

4 responses to “Polly Ticks

  1. You ask good questions – where the answers are blindingly obvious. And, for good measure, I expect your political views aren’t extreme either. 🙂

  2. SMASH THE STATE!!!

    I mean… yes good point. There are so many people in government trying to ‘represent our views’ etc etc but do they actually know what I think? Dammit I don’t even know what I think. Politics confuses and annoys me.

  3. Brennig, obvious yes but sometimes stating the obvious is a good way of pointing things out that people just accept without question. The Old Man used to say I could get a degree in stating the bleeding obvious. Rather than be offended by his blanket dismissal of my keen observations I have adopted it as a worthwhile exercise.

    No, my political views aren’t what I would consider extreme, they just aren’t dead centre. That’s where the parties seem to concentrate, leaving “fringe” issues alone.

    Moochy, why don’t you know what you think? Perhaps the issues simply aren’t presented in an understandable manner. Instead the issues are obfuscated behind Cameron’s Blog or Brown’s grumpy face. Policies are neglected in favour of celebrity status. Perhaps not by the politicians themselves but by the media who purports to keep us informed. We cease to care about the political views on the issues when we don’t know what the issues are and instead vote on personality and flare.

    It’s sad really.

    It’s sad that I know more about Sarah Palin than I do about why there isn’t a Deputy Prime Minister at the moment or what the Secretary of State for Education does. Sorry Secretary of State for the Department of Children, Schools and Families, Ed Balls.

  4. Politics is just a popularity contest; people have lost sight of the real issues (which are what people actually think, what people actually need, and what (not nanny state) is actually good for the country; no, it’s all impossible tax cuts and “the gentleman/lady in the other team is a poo-poo head”

    It’s like the country is being run by the “school playground” rules…

Leave a Reply

