Secular Humanism

The tenets of secular humanism are:

  • Need to test beliefs – A conviction that dogmas, ideologies and traditions, whether religious, political or social, must be weighed and tested by each individual and not simply accepted on faith.
  • Reason, evidence, scientific method – A commitment to the use of critical reason, factual evidence, and scientific methods of inquiry, rather than faith and mysticism, in seeking solutions to human problems and answers to important human questions.
  • Fulfillment, growth, creativity – A primary concern with fulfillment, growth, and creativity for both the individual and humankind in general.
  • Search for truth – A constant search for objective truth, with the understanding that new knowledge and experience constantly alter our imperfect perception of it.
  • This life – A concern for this life and a commitment to making it meaningful through better understanding of ourselves, our history, our intellectual and artistic achievements, and the outlooks of those who differ from us.
  • Ethics – A search for viable individual, social and political principles of ethical conduct, judging them on their ability to enhance human well-being and individual responsibility.
  • Building a better world – A conviction that with reason, an open exchange of ideas, good will, and tolerance, progress can be made in building a better world for ourselves and our children.

Does anyone agree that these are good ideas?

11 Comments

Filed under Atheist

11 responses to “Secular Humanism

  1. Dom

    Need to test beliefs – Why? I’m here, you can see me, there is no faith required to beleive in me. Just do it
    Reason, evidence, scientific method – I am fickle, we’ll do things the way I tell you to
    Fulfillment, growth, creativity – sounds OK
    Search for truth – no need, it’s right here
    Ethics – probably a good idea, provided it doesn’t hamper My Plans
    Building a better world – for me, yes

    Although I guess that’s more nonsecular Domism than secular humanism 🙂

  2. They sound good to me!

    In answer to the question you posed at my blog, check out “Cosmos” by Carl Sagan…

    Can’t believe you haven’t read the book or watched the PBS series!

    R.

  3. Mumsy, thanks.

    Dom, “Domism” sounds a lot like you being a world dictator.

    Robert, neither can I. Would you beleive that The Demon-Haunted World: Science as a Candle in the Dark is out of print. I shall be touring the second hand book shops this weekend….in a good way.

  4. In my simple little universe these strands are eminently sensible. Sense is a thing I like to use often to test my own and other people’s thinking.

  5. Hey hov

    There’s lots of copies available on e-Bay!

    R.

  6. Robert, yes and I can buy second hand copies from Amazon. I have a “thing” with books though. It’s silly but I either like them brand spanking new, all crisp and fresh and virginal or old and well read, dust jackets long ago crumpled to dust. I like to feel an old book and smell the old paper when I hold it. I like to do this before I buy it. The idea of buying a second hand book without touching it first just doesn’t sit well with me. That is why I shall be visiting second hand book shops at the weekend….assuming they haven’t ALL been turned into mobile phone shops.

    Cosmos is on order though.

  7. I’ve been following your ‘back & forth’ with Jason over at GG’s place.

    I have to say I am on your side. But, debating Jason is like trying to catch eels with greases all over your hands. He’s a VERY skilled debater and he knows his subject matter very well. In the end i don’t think he has anymore claim to ultimate truth than anyone else but he knows how to debate! I used to let it get to me that he could get me unhinged so easily, I now let his occasional condescension roll off. Hang in there.

    R.

  8. I agree, he is very good. Oh, I picked up a copy of Comet from the library on the way home. It was the only Carl Sagan book that they had in stock.

  9. Hey I was on e-bay again and I saw NEW copies “Demon Haunted World” are there….

    You might want to giv’em a look see…

    I too, tend to like to hold a book in my hand before I buy, BUT there are certain authors I will give the benefit of the doubt to and purchase with out reading the first chapter. Carl Sagan is or was 😦 one of them.

    R.

  10. Responsibility comes to those who take ultimate choice as their heritage,

Leave a Reply

