Meme: Seven things I approve of

Potage de bleu de Mlle has charged me with citing seven things that I approve of.  I was going to be lazy and just list the Seven Deadly Sins but I’ve opted for a more personal approach.  Here they are:

1. Questions

Ignorance is a terrible thing and the best way of dispelling ignorance is to ask questions.  Accepting something without questioning it is just stupid.  If you disagree don’t bother to ask me why.

2. Being wrong

This goes on from the previous point really but I get to be wrong about lots of different things a lot of the time.  The wonderful thing about being wrong is that I can admit it and change my mind.  If I was never wrong I’d miss out on that.

3. Anger

Good righteous anger makes for change.  When people get angry they get motivated to change things.

4. Electricity

Honestly, I would be able to do almost nothing without electricity.  It’s a wonderful form of energy.

5. Mortality

This is complicated but mortality is vital to life and the appreciation of it.

6. The occasional expletive

I don’t mean the constant swearing that can be heard in any builder’s yard but a well placed expletive can add gravitas to an otherwise mild sentence.  It needs to be rare though otherwise the impact is diminished.

7. Cuddling

As a social animal I enjoy physical contact and cuddling is good for that.  Plus it’s lazy and I like lazy too but I ran out of points.

Tag thyself.

7 Comments

Filed under Lazy Blogging, Reasons to be cheerful

7 responses to “Meme: Seven things I approve of

  1. Mortality is a good one. Recent events have reminded me that life is precious x

  2. Pingback: Seven Things I Approve Of « Charlotte’s Web

  3. Great list! It makes me want to make my own. hmm… I like and agree with all of yours, except #4. Electricity is over-rated, I think. When we lost electricity for over a week because of Hurricane Isabelle, we collected the most memorable moments as a family. Well, but then again, flashlights use electricity, don’t they? Okay… just a little bit of electricity is good, I suppose.

    And #5 is relative, and personal. I don’t like morality as a blanket code of ethics imposed on everyone (as in religion).

    #2 brings one of my favorite quotes to mind:
    “I have contradicted myself in order to avoid conforming to my own taste” ~ Marcel Duchamp

  4. Thanks Soupy, a brush with death is an obvious reminder of mortality and a great motivator.

    Charlotte, hello. It’s lovely to have random visitors popping by. Do come again.

    Linda, you may be right about mortality and religion but don’t faiths with afterlives insist that death is a transient state so we’re not really mortal at all? OK the end of life is still there but you get to reboot at some unspecified future date at the next level. I prefer the “one life, make the most of it” philosophy.

  5. Cuddling is up there in the top things I love to do.
    Naked cuddling is the best kind.

  6. OMG! I read your #5 as morality, not mortality. Haha. Nevermind. (I feel like Rosanne-Rosanna-Danna.. you know…from SNL?) 🙂

  7. Pingback: 7 Things I Approve of « BOOKIE

Leave a Reply

