Cake

The phrase is “You can’t eat your cake and have it” not “You can’t have your cake and eat it”.  Clearly if you have a cake then you can eat it but if you eat a cake you no longer have it. 

You can have two cakes but if you eat one you’ll only have one left.  So you can eat one cake and have another but but it won’t be the same cake.

If you tell me that I can’t have my cake and eat it I will point out your error and insist that you purchase or make an eccles cake for me.

Make your own Eccles Cakes

Preparation time: 20 minutes
Cooking time: 15 minutes
Pre-heat oven to 220°C

Ingredients:

  • 500g flaky pastry
  • 25g melted butter
  • Nutmeg
  • 50g candied peel
  • 100g sugar
  • 200g currants

Method:

  1. In a medium saucepan, combine the sugar and butter and cook over a medium heat until melted
  2. Off the heat, add currants, candied peel, nutmeg and allspice
  3. On a lightly-floured surface, roll the pastry thinly and cut into rounds of about 0.5cm thickness and 10cm diameter
  4. Place a small spoonful of filling onto centre of each pastry circle
  5. Dampen the edges of the pastry and draw the edges together over the fruit and pinch to seal
  6. Turn over, then press gently with a rolling pin to flatten the cakes
  7. Flatten and snip a V in the top with scissors. Place on a baking tray
  8. Brush with water and sprinkle with a little extra sugar
  9. Bake in a hot oven for 20 minutes (220°C) or until lightly browned round the edges
  10. Place on a wire rack and allow to cool.
  11. Try not to eat them all at once!
5 Comments

Filed under Pedantic, Recipe for disaster

5 responses to “Cake

  1. now i’m confused…and hungry

  2. Fabulous

    Dont get me started on being confused pinky. My brain isnt with it anyway. But cake.. mmmmm.
    I cant wait to get baking again. Although someone very lovely just sent me a book all about how to make your own chocolates so maybe i might start with making some of those first.

  3. I don’t like cake. That makes me odd, doesn’t it?

    (I also find that everytime I try and type “odd”, I always type “off” and then have to go back and change it – apart from that time, because I was properly thinking about it).

  4. YOU can have your cake and eat it too!!! as soon as I convert the measurements to american, I am going to try it! Yum Cake!!!

Leave a Reply

