Change as much as you damn well like!

Have you seen this advert for the Boots: Change one thing campaign?

I hate it.  It’s condescending.  It assumes that we are weak willed fools who are unable of concentrating on more than one thing at a time.  It assumes that we are set for failure if we set our targets higher than they tell us to.  It turns us into sheep simply because it gives no option but failure or Change One Thing.  I hate it even more that the Special K advert that tells you to lose weight by eating their cereal rather than … oh I don’t know …. a grapefruit for breakfast.

In 2008 I want to clear some of my debts, exercise more, drink less alcohol, read more and learn another language.  Is there any reason why 2008 should be the year that I do all these things?  No, but I may as well start somewhere and 1st January is as good a time as any.

9 Comments

Filed under Modern Etiquette, Pedantic, You decide

9 responses to “Change as much as you damn well like!

  1. Hear hear!
    My New Year’s Resolution covers anything I like. It is: Be fabulous.
    There are sub-resolutions as well.
    Hmmm.

    HAPPY NEW YEAR Mr Frog!

  2. Dom

    Trying is the first step to failure 😀 Happy new year 🙂

  3. I would like to read more this year too, and promote world peace (BTW I did ask for it for Christmas but did not get it). We humans are getting better all the time at multi-tasking, and I hate those ads too that make us look idiotic, and tell us to eat cereal twice a day, or the chicks at the gym sharing girly advice…honestly we do not do that!

    I have one question for the world–Why can’t we all just get along?
    and those with jerky remarks should just go to their room! I will be going to my room shortly! 🙂

  4. I’m starting to think that i’m doing too many things this year……and they don’t have a book for it….but never mind!

  5. Soupy, not rad then?

    Dom, you’ve reminded me of one of my demotivator posters. “Losing: If at first you don’t succeed, failure may be your style.”

    Darla, world peace would be excellent but first we have to get the world to agree that it’s a good idea.

    Pinky, it’s the second of January, don’t you think that it’s a little early to give up?

  6. oh no, i lasted a day, that’s enough

  7. Oh dear. OK then well done on lasting the day.

  8. Oh, I changed it to rad AFTER I commented here!

  9. That is, of course, your prerogative.

Leave a Reply

