Lefsa

Deb passed me a recipe that I’m planning on trying out at the weekend.

Her husband is Norwegian and apparently so is the recipe.  I’m reliably informed that you can put different goodies in the middle and roll them up like a crepe to eat. i.e. butter, cinnamon and sugar….Have fun!

I’m not 100% sure what a crepe is but I’ll give it a go anyway.  It is actually remarkably similar to a type of Russian pancake that I’ve made before.  The difference being that raw, grated potatoes are used rather than cooked and mashed ones.

INGREDIENTS
18 baking potatoes, scrubbed
1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
1/2 cup butter
1 tablespoon salt
1 tablespoon white sugar
4 cups all-purpose flour

DIRECTIONS:
Peel potatoes and place them in a large pot with a large amount of water.  Bring water to a boil, and let the potatoes boil until soft. Drain and mash well.

In a large mixing bowl, combine 8 cups mashed potatoes, cream, butter, salt, and sugar.  Cover potatoes and refrigerate over night.

Mix flour into the mashed potatoes and roll the mixture into balls about the size of tennis balls, or smaller depending on preference.  Keep balls of dough on plate in the refrigerator.

Taking one ball out of the refrigerator at a time, roll dough balls out on a floured board.  To keep the dough from sticking while rolling it out, it helps to have a rolling pin with a cotton rolling pin cover.

Fry the lefsa in a grill or in an iron skillet at very high heat.  If lefsa brown too much, turn the heat down. After cooking each piece of lefsa place on a dishtowel.  Fold towel over lefsa to keep warm.  Stack lefsa on top of each other and keep covered to keep from drying out.

9 Comments

Filed under Recipe for disaster

9 responses to “Lefsa

  1. 18 potatoes!!!! … but I’ll give it a go .. sounds nice!

  2. My mom makes the same dish with a little difference and it is yummy…

  3. Froginess…if you read the directions you will see the potatoes are cooked and mashed…..is this a man thing????

    A crepe is another type of pancake, made with eggs, flour and milk. They are very thin and can be used for meal or dessert depending on what you put in them…

    Have fun!

  4. thats a lot of potaoes. A crepe is a pancake really.

  5. Cat, I’m, guessing that they are medium sized spuds rather than the monster ones that I like for baking.

    Vi, what difference?

    Deb, the Russian thing has grated spud rather than mashed spud. Is it a man thing to mash? It’s certainly the case in my house. The Hildy has delicate, stick thin, girly arms so I must do all the heavy work. *ahem*

    So a crepe is just a pancake then? Batter mix, fried very thin served with lemon and sugar. I cooked some on Saturday.

    F.A.B hopefully not a whole sack. There are six of us eating in my house so I’m going to go with the instructions.

  6. It looks like you missed the meat out! 😉

  7. Naughty Perp, there’s no meat in my cooking. However if you want to have a sausage in your lefse then it is apparently called “pølse med lompe”. I have no idea how to pronounce that though.

  8. I’ll have to let you know after the weekend.

Leave a Reply

