Toad in the Hole

Toad in the hole is simple. Cook some sausages in a dish (we use vegetarian Quorn sausages but you don’t have to.  two sausages per person is about right), mix up some batter and pour it over the sausages when they’re cooked and sliced (slice length ways in half).  Bung it in the oven for about half an hour. Serve with veggies and gravy.  It’s always best if you have a helper.  You can also drink some cheap plonk while you’re waiting for it to cook.

Batter:
8 oz (400g) Plain Flour
2 oz (100g) Margarine
Pinch of salt
2 Eggs
1 Pint of milk

Whisk it all up together. It’s better if you mix the marg, eggs and dry ingredients first and add the milk slowly but I tend to must use the hand blender for speed.

9 Comments

Filed under Recipe for disaster

9 responses to “Toad in the Hole

  1. Toad in the Hole is absolutely delicious.

    I once told a friend visiting from the US many many years ago that it was actually made with toads. She was somewhat miffed when I told her the truth a few years later. 🙂

  2. tam

    MMMMMM….what time should I be over to enjoy this?

  3. I’ll try your recipe. The name is very weird though.

  4. Jason

    Mmmm… you’re making me hungry Mr Frog!

  5. Unfortunately school lunches put me off this dish many years ago, and whilst it does sound delicious, I shall not be trying it.

    NB: To those of you that might wonder at my comment concerning school dinners, English school dinners were revolting and I’m afraid probably the reason that most of our kids eat junk now! Nuff said!

  6. CAT, I thought school dinners were junk food these days.

  7. Not in my day they weren’t (oops .. showing my age!)

  8. You can’t tag frogs. We don’t have ears.

Leave a Reply

