Do it yourself

Last week I spent some time doing some DIY in le château de grenouille.  My dining room prior to adjustments stank of cigarette smoke and was very dated. 

Here are the very attractive curtains:

Here is the carpet:

Both had to go.  Up came the carpet.

We cleaned up the tiles underneath.  That’s Tiny Tash doing an impression of Mrs Mop.

Then we put down some laminate flooring.

Viola. 

I haven’t got any pictures but I also changed the sockets and ran new power leads for them.  The old owners had actually chosen to use extension leads plugged into each other for power rather than doing the job properly.  You also can’t see the spiffing new brown curtains as I forgot to take a picture of them. 

6 Comments

Filed under le château de grenouille

6 responses to “Do it yourself

  1. tam

    Kudos to the Jack of all trades! Looks great Hov – very nice!!!

  2. Right! You’re hired .. when can you come round?

  3. I need to replace my laminate floor in the lounge, I await your quote :p

  4. Hey! You’re being a froggy snob… 😦

  5. What were they thinking of with those curtains?????

  6. Tam, ta very much. I’ve got the rest of the house to do now.

    Cat, that depends on how much you’re paying.

    Perp, what area do you need to cover? More importantly do I have to cut around any pipes? That’s a pain.

    Debs, that is correct. I have much to be snobbish about. *sticks nose in the air*

    Span, maybe they were flame retardent? They’re off the the charity shop at the weekend where they can adorn the windows of someone less fortunate than me.

Leave a Reply

