Religion causes harm, says poll

On the front page of yesterday’s Sunday Times was an article that stated that “nearly half the British think that religion is harmful”.  This is a surprise for me because I seriously though that my views were in a small minority.

Personally I think the division of Believer, Agnostic or Atheist is too narrow.  I prefer Dawkins’ seven point scale of religiosity.  The Times poll showed the following results:

  • Only 16% of those polled called themselves atheists;
  • 28% believed in God;
  • 26% believed in “something” but were not sure what;
  • and 9% regarded themselves as agnostics.

Putting aside that this adds up to only 79% which indicates that the journalist cold be twisting the statistics for his own ends in some ways (I’m a skeptic, what’s your point) I still find it interesting that there are reportedly more Atheists than Agnostics.

I’ve set up a Facebook poll based on the seven point scale if you want to join in and add your own personal rating.  I’m going to leave it running for a while.

If you don’t use Facebook then the poll is repeated here:

How would you rate your personal belief in the divine?

  1. Absolutely believe in my deity\deities and take the holy book literally.
  2. Believe in my deity\deities and think that the holy book is right even though parts of it are allegory.
  3. Believe in a deity\deities but no particular religion has it right.
  4. Don’t know\not interested\Agnostic.
  5. Don’t really believe in a deity.
  6. Don’t believe in any deity but am open to new evidence.
  7. Absolutely believe in the absence of all deities.  Nothing could change my mind.

Does the poll surprise anyone?

7 Comments

Filed under Religion, You decide

7 responses to “Religion causes harm, says poll

  1. tam

    Hover…I’m on your blog roll!! I am not worthy 😉 K, this is no lie…I was just sitting putting on my make-up (if the barn needs painting – paint it) and I was thinking that I needed to add a couple to my roll – you being one of them. 10 minutes later (still putting on make-up…pathetic) my man says, “Tam, you’re on Hovers roll!” What???!!!! You’re awesome dude!

    Anyways…about this post…Ahhhh…I agree…Religion is harmful! I know…I agree! Thank goodness I’m not “religious”…

    back to painting the barn….

  2. godsgalchild

    Mr. Hover….I will never debate religion with you….LOL I will however debate relationship with the one who made you…. 😉 I’m with Tam, religion is very dangerous and a turn off for me….if ya don’t mind I’ll be addin ya to my blog. Oh, and woot!!! (Was that appropriate ?)

  3. Tam, I only ever add people whose writing I like to read. How long does it take ‘to paint a barn’ anyway?

    GG, you do so debate with me. You state your viewpoint and listen to mine. Even when we disagree (almost always) we still try to understand what the other says.

    w00t!

  4. tam

    hmmm – depends on how run down the barn is. Today, mine looked especially run down! I’m soooo ready for my kiddos to get back to school! Summer has aged me!

  5. godsgalchild

    Oh, alright, I stand corrected…the point is we try to understand eachother….as far as your survey goes, I give a healthy check mark to number 1….hope your move is going better!

  6. tam

    Oh the survey…I’m with #2. But i believe the allegory parts are the parables told by Jesus. They are simple stories told to simple minded people in an easy to understand way. He wanted to get a point across in ways that they would get. I certainly get them. There is a message in them all.

  7. Hi this is Robert….

    You and I have been pestering ‘Gods Gal’ over at ‘The Friendly Christian’!

    Put me down as #6!

    #7 seems too arrogant…how could anyone know for certain!

    Robert

Leave a Reply

