Booook

A chicken walks into the library. It goes up to the circulation desk and says: “book, bok, bok, boook”.
The librarian hands the chicken a book. It tucks it under his wing and runs out. A while later, the chicken runs back in, throws the first book into the return bin and goes back to the librarian saying: “book, bok, bok, bok, boook”. Again the librarian gives it a book, and the chicken runs out. The librarian shakes her head.Within a few minutes, the chicken is back, returns the book and starts all over again: “boook, book, bok bok boook”. The librarian gives him yet a third book, but this time as the chicken is running out the door, she follows it.The chicken runs down the street, through the park and down to the riverbank. There, sitting on a lily pad is a big, green frog. The chicken holds up the book and shows it to the frog, saying: “Book, bok, bok, boook”.

The frog blinks, and croaks: “read-it, read-it, read-it”.

So, I finished 2001: A Space Odyssey, the novel of the film of the screenplay, on Thursday and I’ve packed all my books in preparation of my house move that was supposed to be yesterday.  It is now next Friday.

Anyway this leaves me without a single book to read.  I think that you’ll agree that this isn’t a situation that you ever want to be caught in.  In order to preserve my sanity, put off doing TMA 04, avoid packing and generally escape the house I popped to the shops yesterday for a wander.  I was passing Help The Aged when a book title caught my eye.  An old book that I’d never read.

I had to rush in an purchase John Wyndham’s The Midwich Cuckoos for the princely sum of 39p.

I’ve read The Day of the Triffids and The Seeds of Time and enjoyed them immensely and I’m sure everyone has read The Chrysalids at some point in their lives.  I read it first at school and again every few years after that and can highly recommend it for anyone. 

5 Comments

Filed under le château de grenouille, Reasons to be cheerful, You decide

5 responses to “Booook

  1. midwich cuckoos is amazing…and scary – there is also a book of short stories he wrote which is pretty good too x

  2. You should also try The Kraken Wakes, that also was a good read.

  3. Umm..i haven’t read any of the books you have mentioned, I guess because I don’t like science fiction.
    But I like Robin Cook, I think what he writes can be considered science fiction?

  4. The Chrysalids is a GREAT book. Haven’t read the others. Attempted Day of The Triffids but failed to complete as it made me think of that terrible computer game Day of the Tentacle and I couldn’t take it seriously.

  5. M

    “Day of the Tentacle” was a wonderful game! Spent many wonderful hours in the early nineties playing and laughing.

    Harumph!
    No accounting for taste!

Leave a Reply

