Eventful weekend (possible a little graphic for those with delicate dispositions)

So, good weekend everyone?

I had a day off on Friday to do some work for my own company.  A simple installation of Quickbooks and roll out over two users.  What a palaver!  I blame fact that an expected one hour job went on for three hours on Windows Fecking Vista.  Control Panel?  Where is the damn thing?  Oh there it is.  WTF!  Networking?  Oh I have nineteen different options to choose from.  TCP/IP?  Two flavours.  I hate it and heartily recommend to the whole world that they either stick with XP, wait for the new version of Windows to come out in a few years or use Linux.

Anyway, popping out for an hour on my day off turned out to last until lunchtime.  When I got home the kids had managed to trash the entire house.  I dread the day that they start drinking alcohol if this is the kind of mess they can make when they’re sober.  We spent the rest of the day making everything right and tidy again.

I also had a rant at the estate agent and, to give them their due, they rang up all the solicitors involved in the sale of my house and the purchase of le château de grenouille.  By 2pm I had an estimate for completion of the sale and purchase and the solicitor had updated their tracking web site for the first time in a month.  Estate Agent: One, Solicitor: nil.  It looks like we’ll be moving on the 31st August, exactly one month after we told them that we wanted to move by.

Only two phone calls from work so it was quite a good day off all round.

Saturday was spent in a more sedate manner with The Hildy and I spending some quality time together keeping our relationship vibrant. 😉  The kids had to fend for themselves which is why the house was again wrecked when we emerged from the bedroom at lunchtime.  Much directing ensued and the place was soon spic and span all over again despite accusations of child slavery from Snarly Beth.

We decided on a pub lunch rather than mess up the shiny kitchen surfaces so departed in a northerly direction to said eating and drinking establishment.  Scarcely two minutes down the road we witnessed a robbery and getaway in progress.  A hairdressers had been robbed and the owner was trying to stop the robber (a young blonde woman and her two grubby children) from escaping in their land rover.  I tried to open the door to no avail and phoned the police with the licence number and description.  Typically of the local constabulary they arrived mere moments after the villains had escaped.  We gave our statements and the excited kids immediately wanted to ring all their friends to tell them the news.

It’s sad to see people taking their kids to work with them. 

After an enjoyable lunch with suitable mirth and frivolity we did a little shopping and went home.

Top tip: When condom shopping always have one partner take the kids to the newsagent while the other pops into the chemist for some “medicine”.

Sunday was less eventful that the previous day as it features exactly zero robberies or high speed car chases but I did get all the ironing done and the laundry monster was beaten into temporary submission.  In the afternoon we had the usual visit from The Hildy’s olds and big sister and, of course, baby Sean.  Baby Sean is now five whole years old and a strapping brute to boot but even when he reaches the precipitous heights of his father (6’6″) he will still be Baby Sean.  It’s just one of those things that families do.

As usual I retreated to the kitchen before they left to prepare dinner and I enlisted Tiny Tasha’s aid.  She chops carrots and makes gravy like an expert.  I may also have started a bottle of Valpolichella by accident.  Well, it gives some extra flavour to the gravy.  I can’t leave an open bottle either.

We also got to watch X-Factor which I’m afraid I still can’t stand.

Now that I’ve bored you with my weekend’s activities please reciprocate.

8 Comments

Filed under le château de grenouille, Reasons to be cheerful

8 responses to “Eventful weekend (possible a little graphic for those with delicate dispositions)

  1. Jason

    Sounds like you had … erm … an eventful weekend!
    I guess you’ll be spending most of the Bank Holiday weekend putting stuff in boxes?
    I’ve blogged about my lousy weekend… hopefully next weekend will be better!

  2. Ah boxes. Surely I can pay someone to pack them for me?

  3. Jason

    Yes, that’s a possibility… Extravagant perhaps tho? given that you have a ready source of labour to pack for you!?

  4. Dom

    I’ve written mine up – just need to post,which will probably happen while I wait for the train to leave (hurrah for The Cloud and its Wifi hotspots) or, failing that, when I get home at 6ish. There are no car chases or robberies in mine though.

  5. M

    I sent a friend a text saying “I’m turning my phone off” and now the phone won’t turn back on. (fried brains) I went to the ex house of the ex with her ex and helped sort out and take to the tip a lot of the children’s things now they are no longer living there. I [shh no-one is supposed to know – but I think I was successful]. I didn’t do chores, but I did speak with the children over the internet. (technology – aint it marvellous (I say, with my windows 98/2000 and linux machines)) and similarly with my beautiful friend in Romania.

    Just your average common or garden weekend.
    M

  6. Purple, you mean the tadpoles? No, no, no. Their idea of packing is like the A Team’s idea of a simple plan.

    Dom, no car chases or robberies? You must live in suberbia proper then. Possibly.

    Mas, I thought you’d disappeared (like a genie back into his bottle) but I’m glad to see you haven’t. Ahh Windows 98, bless.

  7. M

    no bottle, but I did have problems with a cork…

  8. A cork you say? Intriguing.

Leave a Reply

