A general email to all my kindly work colleagues regarding the old dog and bone.

Firstly I would like to thank you for the diligence with which you answer the phone.  I don’t think I’ve ever worked for a company that routes calls so quickly to me.  Even when they aren’t for me.  I do have one small quibble that is hardly worth mentioning really except that it does tend to consume quite a large chunk of my day to resolve.  It’s my own fault really.  I just don’t know how to say no. 

When taking a call for another person it would be simply smashing if you could glean the following information from the caller before putting the call through to me. 

  1. The name of the caller.
  2. The company that they are calling from.
  3. The reason that they are calling.

I know that it seems petty but I like to be able to greet my callers by name rather than merely saying “Hello, who is this?”.  You can see how this may appear more professional to some people and thereby give the company a better reputation in the long run. 

I receive a large amount of sales calls from various companies.  The vast majority of these are simply a waste of time for me and for the caller and I’d much rather do some work that tell someone why I don’t want to talk to them.  Also I’ve already used up my monthly allocation of sales call patience. I’d be ever so grateful if you could either take a message which I will ignore or simply hang up on them. 

For future reference you may wish to inform cold callers that I have a policy of never buying from companies that harass me.  I work on the basis of using only companies with a unique selling point that I am after, that have been personally recommended to me by my peers, or that I actively seek out.  If they got my name from a list that they bought then I’m just not interested. 

I also don’t ever want to speak to BT again in my entire life.

If the caller is one of our field agents with a problem it would be wonderful if you could first determine if the problem is a technical one or one where your own area of expertise is sufficient to resolve the problem.  This will save the embarrassment of my putting the call back through to you when I have discerned the reason for the call.

Thank you in advance

The Magnificent Frog

9 Comments

Filed under Cull, van de graaf

9 responses to “A general email to all my kindly work colleagues regarding the old dog and bone.

  1. i very muchly like your dancing frog

  2. They are going to ban sales calls in India, the company’s will be fined if reported, yippie 🙂

  3. Thanks Sammybaby, it was merely an afterthought but it’s a very happy looking frogger.

    V, is that sales calls in India or from India?

  4. hehe, its in India, so cant gaurantee no one will call you from here 🙂

  5. To our office people: “No, I don’t want to speak to Amir from Information Weekly Journal. I didn’t want to speak to him last week or the week before when you wanted to put him through. When I said ‘tell these people to go away and never put them through’, that’s what I meant. I don’t want to speak to his made Mohandra either. No, I’m not interested in Sadiq or Taliq or Kahandra or whatever they are called. Ever. No, I don’t want to do their survey, just tell them to go away. If they phone again, hang up and don’t tell me. No, I’m not worried about missing anything important from these people: if it’s important they’ll get someone I can understand when they speak. Don’t put them through, ever. Don’t interrupt my class or break time for this. Please.”

  6. Sioned

    You need me to work at your office. I would whip everyone into shape. When the employees at one office I managed could not answer the phone correctly (“Thank you for calling X, this is Y, how may I help you?”), I made copies of the “script” and taped it to all their desks. They hated me for it, I am sure, but at least they stopped answering the phone, “Uh, hello?”.

    Come on, hire me, you know you want to.

  7. V 😉 it’s not really important where they call from as long as they don’t call me.

    Tom, ???

    Ducky, do we work in the same office?

    Michelle, lovely and cuddly Michelle, You are too busy becoming the next great entrepreneur of the United States to work in my tiny office. I’d love to see you each morning though and I’m certain that you whipping into shape would be a sight to see.

  8. I read this paragraph fully concerning the comparison of latest and previous
    technologies, it’s remarkable article.

Leave a Reply

