Onion Bhaji

In an effort to avoid conflict of any kind today I am mostly talking about food. 

Ingredients

100g / 4oz Gram Flour
1/4 teasp Chilli Powder
1/2 teasp Turmeric
1/2 teasp Baking Powder
Salt
1/2 teasp Ground Cumin
1 Large Onion, halved and thinly sliced
1 Green Chilli, deseeded and finely chopped
25g / 1oz finely chopped fresh Coriander*
Cold water to mix
Vegetable oil for deep frying

Method

  • Sift the flour, chilli, turmeric, cumin, baking powder and salt into a large mixing bowl. Add the chopped coriander, onions and chillis and mix well.  If, like me you don’t do sifting then just bung the whole lot in together and give is a good stir about with your fingers.
  • Preheat the deep fat fryer to 180ºC / 350ºF.  I tend to put about 3 inches of sunflower oil in a pan and get it really hot.
  • Gradually add enough water to the flour mixture to form a thick batter mixing very well so the onions are well coated.  Make sure you churn the flour up from the bottom or it’ll go lumpy.
  • Very carefully drop spoonfuls of the mixture into the hot oil and fry.  By very carefully I mean dollop a lump of the mixture in with your fingers but try not to get burned.
  • When the onion bhaji is brown scoop it out and shake off the excess oil.
  • Drain well on kitchen paper and serve very hot.  You can keep them hot by putting them in the grill part of the oven but don’t be daft and put paper under there too or you’ll burn your house down.

Makes 10 -12

Incidentally I use exactly the same spices to flavour the rice I cook this with but I add a small amount of peas and one or two cloves.

*If you don’t have any fresh coriander then go out and buy a plant.  You can chop it down and it’ll regrow in a few weeks so you can make more.  It’s part of the miracle of nature.

9 Comments

Filed under Reasons to be cheerful, Recipe for disaster

9 responses to “Onion Bhaji

  1. M

    I resent the implication that we can all go out and buy plants willy-nilly at the last minute when making savoury delights; your lack of foresight in dicatating that this is a mandatory requirements has left me with sticky fingers and nowhere to dance. As such, as I believe is the practice, I must challenge you to fisticuffs at dawn, or any available female should Dawn be indisposed.

    Mas – puddem up, puddem up…

  2. You could pick some coriander from your herb garden. I hope that this placates you and hope that we don’t have to wrestle on a large woman named Dawn. Dawn must be a veritable giantess.

  3. M

    Oh, that’s your answer to everything Mr Frog 🙂

    ah, I wasn’t really all riled up; I was just trying to create conflict where there wasn’t any need to be any.

    Isn’t the feminine form of “giant” also giant?

    Mas – right – we’ll decide this with fisticuffs!

  4. You’re in a pugilistic mood today. I propose that we settle this with ninjas and pirates.

  5. M

    Excellent idea Mr Frog. I’ll have a pint of the Pirates’ best and a packet of cheese and onion crisps and we’ll set the world to rights as you sup your golden ninja nectar.

    Just so long as the idiots keep away from the jukebox we’ll be fine.

  6. This is an Indian dish, right? And it is very very yummy….

  7. Mas, yar!

    Vi, it is indeed. Delicious, nutritious and slightly spicy.

  8. And I must say you have your recipe is up to the mark.

    Btw, You can also use potatoes along with onions. Actually you can use a whole lot of other things too, but yes, onion is the best.

  9. I’ve not tried potatoes but I have added cauliflower and that’s quite tasty given how bland it normally is. I couldn’t eat it all the time though. All that deep fat frying would kill me.

Leave a Reply

