Pants on Fire

Arrgh! my hatred of estate agents continues to grow.  Soon it will grow so large as to block out the sun.

The latest debacle is as follows:

The current owners of the house (Mr Fed Up With Hafalax) that will become le château de grenouille if I get my way have found another buyer for their place.  Someone unrelated to the estate agency has made an offer.  This means that Lying Liars are all set to lose a significant commission if Third Party Man and his Wife buy the house.

I have had several offers for my house but all below what I am willing to let it go for.  I also have three more viewings at the weekend.  I’m taking this as a positive sign that someone might want to buy it.  However the Lying Liars are now coming up with all sorts of bollocks to try to get me to agree to accept a lower offer.  This will ensure that I get to buy le château de grenouille and they get two big lots of commission.  The only people who lose out are the sellers.  i.e. Me and Mr Fed Up With Hafalax. Their customers.

I’m so sick of the whole thing that I’m considering staying where I am and getting an extension built instead. 

Why can’t estate agents realise that they can simply tell the truth.  I won’t hold it against them if they tell me that they want to make a profit.  They’re in business to make a profit.  I’m clever enough to understand that.  It’s the lies and twisted half truths that get to me.

Lets have a bit of honesty for a change.

I was going to write about the Rodents of Unusual Size that I saw at the train station this morning.  I suppose that will have to wait until tomorrow now.  Ho hum.

4 Comments

Filed under Cull, le château de grenouille

4 responses to “Pants on Fire

  1. I’ve only had minor dealings with the evil that is estate agents as I’ve never moved or purchased a house through them, but you’d think they’d have sussed that they have a really, REALLY bad image problem and might have taken steps to do something to correct it.
    But ‘No’, they always seem 100% content to perputuate this shocking lying, cheating image that they, in my opinion, justly deserve !!!
    Good luck with the viewings !!!
    And where were da’ rats ??? Havant ??

  2. I’d love to sever all contact with estate agents. I really would. In fact I think I might. Selling a house can’t be that difficult. If I ever find an honest and trustworthy estate agent I will tell everyone to use them. Surely the free advertising is well worth the effort on their behalf. It’s not like lying is easier than telling the truth. You have so much less to remember when you’re honest.

    The ROUS’s were in Fareham although I have seen a few in Havant. I’m going to try to catch a few photos of them next week. Big as jack russells they were.

  3. Our previous next door neighbours Ian & Elizabeth were Scottish, where the house buying ‘thing’ is a lot different. Ian did ALL the work himself when they sold up, conveyancing, survey’s, searches, the lot !!!
    BUT…. the solicitors of the buyers called for extra time, and money too I guess, to check through ALL his paperwork to make doubly,doubly sure everything was in order, and actually delayed the exchange because of it.
    Worth looking into though…

  4. I can arrange the conveyancing and surveys and do the searches myself. Marketing is as simple as putting an advert in the paper and online and a lot cheaper than the vast sum that the estate agent will want. They’ve got three weeks left on their sales agreement. I’ll give it serious though after that.

Leave a Reply

