Moving!

I stole this from Jen Dziura. You can read her reason for this question on her blog. I am too lazy to repeat them. It is a matter of interest to me as I’m hoping to move soon into a vast mansion where every door has gold knobs.

However I am interested in your responses to her blog poll: How many hours per month do you have to work to pay your rent\mortgage? (For example, if you make £80,000 a year and pay £2,000 a month, that’s about £38/hour, so you work about 53 hours to pay your rent. If you work a £10/hr job and pay £450, you work 45 hours to pay your rent, which makes you, in a way, a little bit richer).

So please answer this in the comments: How many hours do you work to pay your rent, and what city do you live in?

You may choose to be anonymous of course but I’m nosey so please don’t.

Mine was 47.

16 Comments

Filed under le château de grenouille

16 responses to “Moving!

  1. 54 for Faringdon (Oxfordshire).

  2. before or after tax? 😛

  3. ok, before tax it’s about 45 for me in south west London a spit from Clapham. BUT it isn’t a mortgage… only my share of house rent. So I’d squew your data (if you were analysing it, which I suspect you aren’t). I can’t get a mortgage. I am too poor. Not that I have tried.

  4. Yummy Soup, I expect you could get a mortgage….just not in anywhere that you’d want to live or anywhere that would allow you to get to work. I hear that Rowner in Gosport is the only place in the country where house prices are actually falling. I bet you could afford Rowner…or possible Way-els.

    Don’t live there though. Not now that you are living in the smoke of Big City with all the best people. You need to be a bajillionaire to afford Laaaandon house prices.

  5. Yes I expect you are right. I could probably get a mortgage in some parts of Little City, actually.

  6. Steady on. There are limits.

  7. Am i thick?. I just dont get it.

  8. Hmm, the place of the Cheerful Tree is a bit rough, yes.

  9. (is that a bit *too* cryptic, or can you work it out?)

  10. I’ve heard of cheerful tree frogs.

    F.A.B take your monthly rent\mortgage and divide it my your hourly wage. This will give you the number of hours you need to work to pay your rent\mortgage. i.e.£1000 rent divided by £20/hour equals 50. So you need to work 50 hours to pay your rent

  11. floatykatja

    Ha. I would so send your poll into complete FUBAR territory, so I won’t even try. Basically, I own my flat outright and I don’t have a steady wage. Some weeks I’m earning 12 or 13 quid an hour and some weeks I’m earning – er – precisely nothing. Oh, the joys.

  12. oh ok i get it.
    I dont work though!.

  13. Glamourpuss Katja, as a Lady of Property and Independent Means you would skew the results of this highly scientific test. I’m very jealous of you, you know. I’m about to extend my mortgage by about a bajillion years.

    Shiny and Fabulous Fabulous, you lucky person. But as an infinity number you’d really skew the results. I mean totally.

  14. But i do do a lot of housework. And stuff

  15. Yes but it’s for the love of it not for the money.

    *ahem*

Leave a Reply

