Rat a tat tat

I’ve had pet rats for many years on and off.  They are the best pet that you could ever choose.  Anyone who has shared their sofa with a rat can tell you this.

Spike and Oz

From left to right they are Oz and Spike.  Both female rats who got very fat in their old age.  Their favourite game was to play at being rat hats for the kids but only if the kids kept still.

Harry Rat before he went to the vets for the last time.  It was a constant joke of the young Harry that he would only sleep inside a box of Felix cat food pouches.  I think he liked the sense of danger and enjoyed tormenting Riz Cat.  Curiously Riz Cat has always suffered from a sort of rat blindness that means that she cannot see or hear any rat in the house, not even when they throw wood shavings at her and point and laugh.

I don’t have a single picture of Harry’s brothers, Pete and Jack.  This is a great shame because all three lads were the very picture of hairy handsomeness.  Both were brown rats with large patches of white on their fur.

Jack Rat’s favourite food was dog biscuits.  Pete preferred the fingers of my nephew.

I miss having rats as pets.  As soon as I move into le château de grenouille I intend to get at least four little rat ladies to keep the house safe and comfy.  Rat ladies tend to fight less than rat chaps and are also less prone to … how do I put this delicately … marking their territory.  Although Rat ladies are prone to breast cancer which the chaps tend not to be although they can, of course, still develop it.

What should I call them though?

10 Comments

Filed under le château de grenouille, Reasons to be cheerful

10 responses to “Rat a tat tat

  1. I am scared that Polly and Sybil will get tumours! 😦 You still might be taking them at this rate! (although, much as I love you, I hope not!)

  2. How old are they now? The old girls were both into their twos before they got anything bad but only Pete made it past his second birthday. That’s because he was a cantankerous old sod who liked to glare and just wanted to outlive everyone else so he could say he had. I miss his sense of humour though and the jokes he used to crack after he had his paw removed.
    “Call me Peg Leg Pete and I’ll push you off the swing ya git” he used to say. Not out loud but in his head. I knew what he meant though.

  3. aww! 🙂 they look all shiny!

    i really want a rabbit but i can’t even look after our fish so i don’t think i should be allowed one 😦

  4. PJ, they were all very shiny…when they weren’t scabby….but that was because we changed their bedding to a cheap one and they didn’t like it. Rats are better pets than fish and you can even keep them in a large fish tank (with a lid on) but you have to remember to empty out all the water first.

  5. I got them in November last year (I think) and they were about 6 or 8 weeks old (I think) so that makes them about 6 months now. They’re both quite little rats as well, even for girls.

  6. Aw, they’re still babies.

  7. Can I proffer the names “Tony”, “George”, “Gordon” and, randomly, “God” ( the last one just because it would confuse people as you crawled around the floor calling his/her name when, inevitably, they go on an unplanned excursion).

  8. Thanks Pun. Tony, George and God could arguably be girl’s names but Gordon? I think not. Gordon is clearly the name of a moron.

  9. Chad Norwood

    Wow, youre pretty funny dude and intelligent too bro.. ( no im not gay ) ..lol.. anyway rats are snake food man.

  10. Thanks Chad, I am funny and intelligent, aren’t I. I’m also stunningly good looking but I can see that this doesn’t interest you. I’m wondering if the spam filter needs updating. Anyone who can’t use initial capitals*. mmm.

    The snakes I’ve met prefer frogs and mice to rats.

    *Except for the lovely fieldrat

Leave a Reply

