Thoughts on TMA01

First of all I’m not putting my answers here.  It would encourage plagiarism and probably get me kicked of the course.  If you see anything that is too close to giving away an answer please tell me and I’ll delete it.

Secondly, never underestimate the power of cutting and pasting.  As a programmer I would have to say that cut and paste is the single greatest time saver ever invented when it comes to programming.  Ever!

As usual it is important to ready all the submission rules at the beginning of the TMA booklet as well as anything that your tutor may have in the way of personal preference.  Fortunately this course has an eTMA option to submit the TMAs online so that effectively gives me an extra two days to get them finished.  I usually need these extra days by the end of the course because of my time management skills (or lack thereof)

Question 1

Question 1 is actually part 1 of the TMA and needs to be submitted as TMA00 by 15th February.  The swot that I am, I submitted it on the 18th January when the eTMA system was opened.  Note that the eTMA system allows for me to overwrite this if something comes up during a discussion or I have a revelation.

Essentially Question 1 tests whether or not I have read the first unit, if I’ve picked up on some key terms and if I can find my way around a simple C++ program.  I have, did and can so I’m expecting a great mark for TMA00. 😉

Question 2

Based on Unit 2 it provides a typical OU made up example where some programming would be useful.  In this case a program to record and display the results of lots of interviews with students.  The top level design is fairly straightforward and, if this were the real world, I would have already coded it.  However the question is testing my ability to revise and refine a design and not my coding skills.  Having said that, part (b) of the question looks at my ability to straight from the refined design.  The answer is similar enough to the worked example in Unit 2 as to not be a problem.

Remember to take screen shots of the working program.

Part (c) asks for a further refinement of the program design.  I’m afraid that I couldn’t stop myself from using a different method than the one explained in Unit 2.  My method was neater and did the job more efficiently that using nested if statements.  Sadly the question didn’t want my enhanced code, just the top level design.

*sulk*

Question 3

Based on Unit 3 this question essentially asks you to write code to trim extra spaces out of a given piece of text.  A cheaty person could just google this and arrive at a final answer but that would be no fun at all.

Again we’re asked to capture screen shots as well as code listings and tehn to modify the design slightly.  It’s fairly basic stuff really.

Question 4

Watch out, this question only carries half the marks of the previous two questions and it does not actually require any coding.  Reading through Unit 4 should enable you to answer the question not only correctly but using the methodology outlined in the unit.

Leave a comment

Filed under MT262

Leave a Reply

