Pesky technology

Stupidly I have installed all the course software form MT262 on my laptop and not on my PC.  I intended to set up a wireless network at home so that I could have access to the course website and FirstClass conference from my comfy chair.  My comfy chair is where I read the course material and it seems logical to extend this functionality to other parts of my study regime.

I have therefore purchased a Netgear DG834G ADSL Modem Router with super whizzy firewall and a jolly WG111 dongle for The Hildy’s old laptop.  I set it up last night and was about 3/4 the way through the installation when I was prompted for my IP address.  “What?”, thought I.  My ISP is Tiscali and they provide a dynamic IP address every time I connect to t’Internet.  Best I ring them up and ask for a static IP address.

You’d think it would be easy to do this.  You’d be so wrong that I’d need to sing the Wrong Song at you.  An obviously very busy lady from the call centre informed me that Tiscali don’t provide static IP addresses except to businesses.  “Arse”, thought I as I began my quest for a new ISP.  She was very polite though and her English was impeccable. 

Having commented on the quality of her English I should point out that my assumption here is that she was Indian and that Tiscali have an Indian call centre.  She could well have been sitting in a call centre in Dublin.  Anyway, I’ve always disliked call centres but she was so enthusiastic that I just had to smile.

After undoing all the changes involved in setting up my super whizzy new Netgear rocket propelled ADSL router I finally got back onto t’Internet and started my research.  Rather than change over to BT (yuck), AOL (ha ha), or someone similar I decided to keep my existing email address and upgrade to a business account.  A business account has the option for a static IP address and is exactly the same price as a consumer account but with double the bandwidth.

Now I’m waiting for them to send me the details.

*twiddles thumbs*

Why didn’t I sort this out weeks ago before my course started?

12 Comments

Filed under MT262

12 responses to “Pesky technology

  1. M

    “The best-laid plans of mice and men
    Gang aft agley
    And leave us naught but grief and pain
    For promised joy.”
    Robert Burns

    or…to quote from the comment you left on my blog the other day

    “Hofstadter’s Law: It always takes longer than you expect, even when you take Hofstadter’s Law into account.”

    I have a wired network which is a lot simpler than all this new-fangled wireless stuff. Although much more wire involved.

    When you were prompted for IP address, was it the IP for the router or the machines connecting to it ( as with old-wired-internet connection sharing you can set your primary machine – whatever IP it is assigned with one address, then on the network side of thing, all the machines can be assigned an address in the local IP address range – say the 192.168.0.0 etc (IIRC) )

    Then again I know almost nothing about wi-fi. Except it won’t play my old vinyl records. You’ll get there in the end Mr Frog, you’ll get there in the end.

    M.

  2. cha0tic

    Hang on. Isn’t the IP address of the router (Look here.) something like 192.168.nnn.nnn ? That’s the thing your trying to get the Laptop to connect to isn’t it?

  3. cha0tic

    Bugger I should’ve read all the way through what M said. I’m saying something similar.

  4. cha0tic

    Double the bandwidth though. Cool!

  5. Mas, I was goign to put a wired network in originally but the idea of laying trunking around my skirting boards made me cross. I’d not sure my because I’ve done it often enough in other people’s offices.

    It was the IP address of the machine.

    cha0tic (thrice), I checked this and it was definitely the machine address. But, double the bandwidth and a contention ration of x20 rather than x50 if the hype is to be believed.

  6. Fabulous

    um last sentance. WHY?. Well boys do that!. ( in the nicest possible way)

  7. I admit that I was sort of hoping that it would miraculously buy itself, get delivered and install without my having to do anything. I mean, is that too much to ask?

  8. Fabulous

    Maybe just a little.. lol.. How about writing a ‘to do list’ next time.

  9. M

    I think that’s not solely the males who fall for the “not sorting things out well in advance” thing Fab.- I think it varies from person to person as much as from sex to sex (I know, I should say “gender” but I’m in the mood for sex today… wait… I don’t mean like that – Oh um… I’ll go back to gender; I can see why the word exists now -blush-) but really, irrespective of the gender, it’s something most of us do from time to time. Usually there are reasons for things being left, but… maybe there’s a link between gender and procrastination?

    (Oh, and Fab. I can’t leave you comments on your blog as I’m not a wordpression and am not intending to be one as I barely have time to keep my main blog afloat, previous underbloglings floating away into the sea of never-updated… And some of my comments are good… even if I do say so myself 🙂 )
    M.

  10. Fabulous

    M i put on a pretectant thing but will take it off just for you honey bun..
    Sorry froggy for useing your blog as a way to comunicate. x

  11. M

    Thank you Fab, and thank you Mr Frog for not shouting at us hijacking your comments.

    M.

  12. Fabulous, a to do list sounds like a plan. If only I could be so organised and less lazy.

    Mas, procrastination could have been my middle name….if it wasn’t Clyde.

    You’re both welcome to hijack away.

Leave a Reply

