MT262 Block 1 Unit 1 – Beginnings

Unit 1 is fairly straightforward,  There’s an introduction to the course that gives an overview as to what’s involved in the course.  There’s some handy objectives:

  • develop a systematic approach to designing computer-based solutions to problems;
  • translate designs for solutions into computer programs;
  • acquire basic skills in the use of C++ for writing programs;
  • understand these concepts in C++ that are common to all similar programming languages;
  • acquire experience of using a modern programming environment;
  • acquire skills in ensuring that programs actually perform as they are intended to perform

Thee are broader aims that include:

  • developing an understanding of the problems involved in getting a computer system to carry out useful tasks;
  • developing an awareness of some of the difficult areas to which computer programming is applied;
  • developing an awareness of the different environments in which computer programs run, and the consequences or the programmer;
  • appreciating the relationships between the computer, its software, you as a computer programmer, and the person who uses the programs that you write.

There is a whole section of unit one that deals with installation of the course software.  It is well worth spending time looking at this even if you’re an experienced programmer.  All future units refer to the methods laid down in this unit so skipping it will leave you at a disadvantage.   There really isn’t anything that you can skip.

Section 4 looks at embedded systems and non-embedded systems and it is vital that you understand, not only the differences between the two, bu the limitations of each.

This leads directy on to TMA00 aka Question 1 of TMA01…

6 Comments

Filed under Your starter for 10

6 responses to “MT262 Block 1 Unit 1 – Beginnings

  1. Sounds great Mr Frog, I would say Best of Luck, but I doubt that you’ll need it, you’ll waltz through the course 🙂

    I’d be interested to know what Methodologies they teach these days. When I graduated many moons ago all the methodologies that I’d been taught JSP/JSD, The Object Oriented methods, and so on were all not in use in the “real world”, I did in time find a use for PRINCE2 but in a Project context rather than code design.

    These days I find myself using ITIL more than anything else, but then I’m NOT a developer (thankfully!)

  2. Hello Purple, you found me then. My previous courses have taught OOP methods and specifically UML for use in Java programming. PRINCE2 isn’t available except on the postgrad project management course and ITIL not at all. Most of the OU courses really only give you an overview of methodologies and different programming languages.

  3. Sounds like a hole heap of fun Mr Frog. I attempted, and gave up, studying for an MSc in Computing for Commerce and Industry some years ago, but after being shipped out to Indianna after three weeks and travelling all over the US of A whilst there, I was totally overwhelmed by the amount of work I had to do.
    I also had serious problems getting my head around OOD… after a life time of coding on the fly I was baffled by attempting to actually have to sit down and plan what I was about to code. I always got to the point where my psuedo code turned into real code !!! Frustrating beyond belief !!
    Good luck old boy !!! Jolly good luck…

  4. BP, I find that not having a social life helps. I’m in the same situation with the pseudo code. I’d rather just get on with it. I keep finding myself adding comments after I’ve finished the coding just so I can get the marks for leaving comments.

    This is naughty bad behaviour.

  5. My tutor gave me jip for doing that… he said it was obvious that I was originally a BASIC programmer trying to be an OOP programmer… something about old dogs and tricks or some such crap !!!

  6. What’s wrong with BASIC programmers? My very first program ever was in BASIC. BBC BASIC actually.

    Now you’ve made me feel old.

Leave a Reply

