Thanksgiving

In my wanderings around the blogosphere today I’ve seen a few comments about his Thanksgiving thing that seems to be so popular in the former colonies of the British Empire.  In the spirit of the moment I give you thirteen things that I am thankful for.  I’m not exactly sure who I’m thankful to but I’m going to ignore that particular conundrum for today.

  1. The Hildy.
    I know it’s a cliche but I’m incredibly happy for the love of this great woman.  I really don’t know what she sees in me. 
  2. The tadpoles.
    Snarly Beth, Cake Worm, Tiny Tasha and, Little Al.  The greatest young people I ever could meet and they make me laugh out loud every day.  I’m truly blessed for having fathered such delightful children.
  3. My home.
    It may be cluttered and too small but the roof keep the rain off and the walls stop the chill wind from getting in.  Plus it’s mine (apart from the bit that the bank own).
  4. My job.
    I may whinge about the work that I do and the morons that I work with but I have a job that keeps my brain very active and pays me well for something that I enjoy doing.
  5. My brother.
    I never mention the annoying little sod but my baby brother Adam is a good bloke.  I count him as my friend as well as my family.
  6. My health.
    Another cliche I’m afraid.  However apart from some slight damage to my eyes and a small problem with being a bit of a chunky monkey I’m in perfect health.  I have all my own teeth at least.
  7. My intellect.
    I’m very thankful that I have the ability to comprehend things rather than just to react to events.  I see so many people react to things that happen to them without any understanding of the events that caused them.  They often make things worse.
    Of course I am incredibly sad that I am intelligent enough to know that I’ll never know everything because I’d really like to be omnipotent.
  8. Emotional stability.
    I have my ups and downs like everyone else but all told I feel that I am incredibly stable as a person.  Well, unless you sit in my seat on the train or try to steal food that I’m eating.
  9. My imagination.
    I like to think of myself as imaginative.  Undoubtedly there are people whose imagination surpasses my own but there are many others who do not.
  10. The written word.
    Really, who thought of this?  Take an idea.  Make some marks.  Share the idea.  Amazing
  11. Electricity.
    Possibly he greatest discovery of modern times.  What sort of world would we live in without it?
  12. Cheese.
    Whoever invented cheese has my eternal thanks.  If ever a better foodstuff were created it would be perfection in the mouth.
  13. Sex.
    Last but not least.  My thanks for the biological imperative that is procreation knows no bounds.

So, that is what I am thankful for.  What are you thankful for?

My thoughts are with Alicia and Simon at this difficult time for them.  While nothing I can say or do will ease their pain I hope that they derive some small comfort from this brief message.

Leave a comment

Filed under Eerie

Leave a Reply

