Compost

There really is no end to the interesting things that you can read about when you come and visit me on my blog.  As a fine example I’ve just realised that I have so far failed to regale you with the fascinating tale of my new compost bin.  Being the wasteful and throwaway culture that we are the hoverFrog family like to do our bit to reverse this trend.  We recycle everything that we can and take our bottles (from The Hildy’s drinking) to the bottle bank.  We really do enjoy the satisfying smash of glass that tells us that we’re doing good.

However we could do more.  That is why I have taken the necessary steps to purchase a compost bin for our biologically degradable waste.  We have noticed that Saffie and the rat ladies go through rather a lot of hay and sawdust and even psycho cat, Riz, uses wood pulp cat litter.  These can all be composted and used to grow good healthy veggies or perhaps tasty fruits like tomatoes or a mini orange tree. 

I expect my bin to arrive in the next week or two.  You too can purchase a compost bin for a small sum from recycle now.  I’ve noticed that the price is less than a third of some high street shops and you get a discount for ordering online.  If you want to do something else good for the environment and for local wildlife you could always follow Flighty’s lead and get a wood pile going.

5 Comments

Filed under Environment

5 responses to “Compost

  1. Dom

    My ex has two compost bins (so there is always lots of nice fresh compost for her to use) and we had wood piles, bee boxes, bird boxes and the like. I assume she still has all of that. Since I don’t have a garden I don’t have any of that any more, but then my step dad does have a zoo geared at conservation of Brazilian species in his back garden.

  2. Ooh bee boxes. Now that’s an idea that I hadn’t considered.

  3. Many thanks for the linked mention. My log pile is at one end of what I intend to keep as a small wild flower area for wildlife.
    An allotment neighbour keeps bees on his plot!
    Happy New Year!

  4. I knew it! I had a feeling you were a tree-hugging, save-the-rain-forest kind of guy (…?) thus the frog?

  5. tam

    Very cool Hov! You’re just a cool Frog now aren’t ya?

    Happy New Year!!!

Leave a Reply

