Tagged about books

Darla tagged me with her virtual tag gun.  Now I’m forced to answer questions on my reading habits or face the prospect of setting off alarms in books shops for the rest of my life.

01.  One book that changed your life   Ah now there’s the crux.  By the very definition every decision I make has some bearing on my life and therefore changes my life to some extent.  However I’d have to say that the book that really changed my life most significantly wasn’t a book at all but a play.  That play was William Shakespeare’s The Tempest and it showed me that there is magic in words. 

02.  One book that you have read more than once  Another tricky question.  I read most books more than once which is why I keep them after all.  I suppose that The Color Purple is one that I read every few years.  It really gets to me and I can see hope rising out of such cruelty whenever I read it.  The film, while excellent, didn’t do the book justice.

03.  One book you would want on a deserted Island  It’d have to be something long and something that I’ve never read.  War and Peace.  The Hildy keeps telling me to read it and one day I just might.

04.  One book that made you laugh  I’m not the fruitcake that laughs out loud on trains while reading.  Really I’m not.  One book that is packed full of giggles is Good Omens by Terry Pratchett.  It’s also one that I keep meaning to reread.  Another was Making Waves by David Hasselhoff.  OK it wasn’t supposed to be funny but it had me in stitches from the beginning.

05.  One book that made you cry  I’m really not the sort of person who cries.  No, no, I am far too manly for such things.  Other than The Color Purple mentioned above I’d have to say that Lovely Bones was one book that was certainly sentimental enough to make me blink a few times.

06.  One book that you wish had been written  All of them.  Every book that I read.  Recently I wish I’d written American Gods but I’m not Neil Gaiman.  I’d have loved to have spent a year researching it though.  It was fascinating.

07.  One book that you wish had never been written  Hard Times by Charles Dickens.  Honestly I studied this book for a degree course and it was so very dull and so packed full of obvious stereotypical characters who were just there to be sneered at.  I hated it.  Alternatively the Bible.  It just seems to be an excuse for all sorts of unpleasantness that humanity gets to inflict on itself.  Yeah, yeah, there are good bits too but someone gave away the ending and I’ve disliked it ever since.

08.  One book you are currently reading  Sadly I am currently reading IT Governance: A Manager’s Guide to Data Security and BS 7799 / ISO 17799.  I won’t give away the ending though.

09.  One book you have been meaning to read Oh so many.  The Book Thief is definitely high on my list.

10.  Now I am suppose to tag 5 people  Oh I don’t know.  Anyone who wants to play.

3 Comments

Filed under Lazy Blogging, Religion, You decide

3 responses to “Tagged about books

  1. I have jumped for this tag, but I have already done it…

    I loved ‘Color Purple’. And I loved the language too, very powerful.

    Sadly I didn’t like ‘The lovely bones’ that much. Maybe it was because I was expecting a lot from it. I do cry while reading books but I didn’t shed a single tear for this one. Sad indeed. I so wanted to like it.

    I just bought ‘The book thief’ last week. I’ll start it next year though. I am reading Papillon at the moment.

  2. I loved the tempest and the color purple (also liked the movie)…now I am very curious about the “Book Thief”, and heard of others who laughed from cover to cover with the hasslehoff book! :) Thanks frog…always looking for new books, and reviews from people who aren’t paid to say nice things!

  3. I sorted out my books today (read/ not read/ will never read so will sell/ charity). It felt good. I have a lotto get through though!

    This is a good meme. :)

Leave a Reply

