Christmas Eve Humbug

It’s Christmas Eve and I am at work…at least for another hour.  On my way in to work I was enjoying the silence and calm that only occurs when I am out and about before my fellow man is even awake.  No school kids to annoy me with their incessant shrieking, no oldsters hobbling along and getting in the way, no chubbies blocking my path.  It was lovely.

Unfortunately it appears that all these people had decided to go shopping for some reason.  As I passed through the town centre I noticed hoards of rampaging shoppers frantically buying goods and food items.  Clearly they are aware of some impending crisis and are stocking up on necessities.

At work I have been asked a dozen times if I have brought everything that I need.  I’m sure I can manage for one day while the shops are shut.  It’s not as if I’m going to starve or anything.  My answer has been: “If we haven’t got it by now then we obviously don’t need it”.

I’m going to brave the streets again in an hour and I may be forced to stop in a public house to seek alcoholic refreshment.  I may skip this though and just get away from the crowds.

What is it about Christmas that turns ordinary human beings into greedy, obnoxious lunatics?

Is it fair to add Christmas shoppers to my human cull?

6 Comments

Filed under Bad things happen, Cull, Modern Etiquette

6 responses to “Christmas Eve Humbug

  1. Petrol stations round here have run out of unleaded, because clearly people cannot survive one day without the knowledge that they have fuel in their cars!

    The sheer insanity of such panic buying makes me laugh.

  2. I have been finished, and like you if we don’t have it we don’t need it! I am staying in! if anyone wants to visit-cool!, and if not…so what! hahahaha I am a bit of a scrooge, hate the crowds, and shoppers that have lost their minds and their manners make me crazy! Headed to my kitchen where I also have control over something…more coffee or english tea? that is my hardest question today! Merry Christmas Frog, the Hildy…want to blog with the Hildy..does she have a blogspot?

  3. Perp, people are just crazy at this time of year.

    Darla, The Hildy doesn’t have a blog at all. She’s sort of a luddite when it comes to computers.

    Right. I’m off down the pub. There’s a distinct possibility of drunken blogging later in the day. Oh yes.

  4. snarlz

    heehee
    u got so drunk u couldnt light da candle!!! lol :P

  5. tam

    Well tomorrow our town will be ridiculous! And i will do my best to stay in doors…MY doors! People are crazy around here!! The return lines (for everything everyone just HAD to have) will be miles long and people will be too grumpy to be safe in my presence! So i’m staying in!

    Hope you had a fine Christmas Hov! ;)

  6. snarlz- way to go busting your dad on the WWW. LOL my kids would bust me too if they could ;)

    BTW – Hover you are tagged on my blog..between you and Inworship, hoping to get some new books to read..any ideas?? come and play..good to get the ole brain pumping again after holiday bliss.

Leave a Reply

